I reincarnated as the evil princess of [The rising of the hero]. What should I do!?

Translation of extra chapter of the WN. April Fools chapter (April 1st, 2019)

Translated by RageCorvus

Raw link: https://ncode.syosetu.com/n3009bk/925/

I reincarnated as the evil princess of [The rising of the hero]. What should I do!?

Before I noticed, I was alone in a luxurious room.

This is…… what the hell is this ……?

I was unable to process the situation and looked at a nearby mirror stand.

It wasn’t my face what I saw in the mirror… It was the face of the villain and the source of all this, called Bitch.

Vague memories of a previous life…? I think I had been an office worker in the modern world. My original name… What was it again? I can’t remember it. However, there is no doubt that the woman reflected in the mirror is the silly and diabolical princess who appears as an enemy in [The Rising of the Shield Hero] and [The Reprise of the Spear Hero].

[The Rising of the Shield Hero]. It was first posted on a website called “Let’s Become a Novelist” and then it was made into a book and even into an anime.

A university student, Iwatani Naofumi came to the library and read a book called “The Book of Four Sacred Weapons” that he found by chance, and while reading the book, he was summoned to a different world as a shield hero who saves the world, which is a typical beginning of a story, and then he gets involved in various conspiracies that happen against him.

Starting with the three other heroes, who cannot get the game mentality out of their heads, the protagonist fights off conspiracies and false accusations done by the nation that summoned them, Melromarc, which religiously tries to persecute the Shield Hero, a god from the enemy’s nation. It’s a story that I have been reading since I was in high school, that is rated differently depending on who reads it, and many people don’t like it because it’s stressful for them.

After [The Rise of the Shield Hero] the author wrote a new Spin-off, called [The Reprise of the Spear Hero].

In this story, the spear hero, who is portrayed as an immediate enemy in [the rise of the shield hero], has been looped into a parallel world… A clumsy spear hero who knows the future, but whose personality has been changed, somehow manages to create the ideal future… not.

Devoted to one of the heroines in [Shield Hero], Filo, he regrets his past deeds.

In this story, the hero tries to repent from his past mistakes, as he attempts to meet his beloved Filo once more while trying to aid the Shield Hero. Many times in the story, the Spear Hero tries to solve problems using brute force, causing events that were never explored in the original main story.

I remember these two stories so well because I loved reading them so much. I used to watch the illustrated characters from the novel art and other various media. That’s why there was no way I couldn’t mistake the face I’m looking on the mirror.

If you also had this face you would say ”she is a beautiful girl”. Putting on a sneering expression, only reveals what one could truly call ”the face of a villainess”. This is the villainous princess who would later be called ”Bitch”. So, what does this evil princess has to say about herself?

Once more, I look into the mirror. Yep, she is a real beauty.

If you don’t out on a villainous face, she looks more like a heroine on a male-oriented film…how does that even work? At least it’s not a face you can detect as a bad girl in the first meeting. Well, maybe it’s to keep the consistency with the events of the original story.

Thinking this, as I looked out the window, I caught a glimpse of a person coming up the stairs. Is that… Yeah, it’s the Four Holy Heroes. I quietly open the door of the room and call out to a soldier who is on guard patrol.

”Psst. Hey.”

“Yes! How may I help you, Lady Malty”.

The soldier does a salute, trying to hide his nervousness when I approach him. Looks like I still have authority…, it’s better to check it out, just in case.

”Can you explain to me what is going on in the castle right now?”

”Yes! The entire castle has been informed that the summoning of heroes, under the direction of the three heroes church and king Aultcray was a success! Would you like to take part in the audience?”

I knew it! I have been brought to another world… To the world of [The Rising of the Shield Hero]. I can see the icon that brings up Stats on my visual field. Maybe I should check it…

”No, but I’ll check what goes on, from the back of the room.” I remember that…in the story, the princess was hiding in the back of the throne room. ”I’m sorry for stopping you. You can go back to work now.”

”Yes!”

The soldier saluted me and left, swiftly walking away. I bet he is gonna talk about me behind my back or something. I remember reading and liking the [Shield Hero] series a lot. I remember fantasizing about couples a whole lot and, also remember liking the ”Faubley” version of the heroes as well… I’m sure I am ”that kind of woman”.

I’m pushing for ”Shield x Spear”, or vice-versa. I’d like to see them intertwined.

I’d love to take the opportunity to make a lot of moves ”from behind the cameras”, but at the same time, taking into account my current position in the [Shield Hero] story, it’s not a good idea. A person that has the memories of their previous life is called a ”Reincarnator” in this world, and they are often the core cause of many problems and tribulations on the world…a pawn of the true enemy. So if I make a wrong move, my soul could end up erased, let alone killed.

I pinched my cheek to prove if I was dreaming, but it hurt.

Yeah, I’ve been reincarnated as Bitch…

But I don’t feel like I’m possessed.

There’s a lot of backstory to Bitch, and if she’s possessed, there’s a lot of stuff going on behind the scenes… But I am not possessed, not even a voice or anything of the sort.

…What can I do to survive in this situation?

The world is currently experiencing a powerful phenomenon called ”The Waves of Catastrophe”. If you respond casually to this crisis, you will not only devastate the country but also the world will be destroyed. The country is behind the disagreement between the heroes and the religion of this country seems to believe that the world will be saved by the three heroes after setting up the shield hero. They are convinced that their faith will save them from destruction, and a new era begins with those faithful believers and the heroes who saved the world.

The religions I know of the ancient world also have such descriptions in their books of instruction. I can imagine that this is a way to keep believers together, but the Church of the Three Heroes have made it happen. It sounds really silly…but eschatology is everywhere. The same happened in my old world.

So, in this situation, what am I supposed to do?

I could explain my whole story and convince the heroes that I am a good reincarnated person. Since I know this whole story, that would be my best shot.

But… The moment I try to reveal anything, as a reincarnated person, a bomb planted in my head would go off, killing me and even erasing my soul, so that’s out of the question.

Should I limit myself to sit on the sidelines and do nothing? Staying at a distance from the heroes?

That’s not so bad. At least if I do nothing, I might be able to avoid the threat to my life. It’s just… I would be acting oddly, I know. I mean, if I were to use my modern knowledge to do anything extra-ordinary, I’d be sentenced to meet my demise.

As far as I can tell, it’s a world of work that will be a problem if you keep getting carried away like that.

That’s a meta-knowledge, though.

Neither the Queen nor Princess Melty will complain if you do nothing

But… If I remember correctly, because I’m responsible for the heroes being summoned, the queen offered my hand in marriage to the king of Faubley…

The queen has a warm heart and doesn’t want to marry me off, but if the king of Faubley were to insist harder, I’m not sure she would be able to refuse. I’m sure that the only reason the marriage was off, was because I was with the spear hero, at the time.

Taking action is too dangerous… Doing nothing is also too dangerous…

Even with moderation, while trying to keep the queen from marrying me off, or trying not to provoke the heroes, it would be impossible to escape, hide as a commoner or even flee the country, because of the shadows and other covert operations.

If I act suspiciously, they might think I’m plotting something, and end up being married off…

It’s starting to sound more and more like a dead-end…

Why did I have to reincarnate as Bitch? Why couldn’t it be Melty or Raphtalia?

I would even take being a mob, Keel…even a plain and subdued character like Imiya would do. But now that I remember, they also had been in some very tragic and rough situations. Yeah, I don’t want that either.

… How would it be if it was somebody else?

If I was Elena, the lazy pig.

I’m pretty sure I could get away with it, so long as I behaved well and kept up appearances.

How about Filo.

No. It would be very difficult to get around.

An office lady from the modern era going around saying “Filo’s name is Filo!!” would sound weird. I don’t even know if reincarnating as a Filolial is possible! Being reincarnated and raised as a Filolial mob by the spear hero would be ideal.

Huzzah for being reincarnated as a monster!!

I was biting my nails unconsciously. My face was full-on ”villainess”.

I snuck into the audience chamber, trying to steal a peek at the heroes’ audience. I had a vague recollection of the castle, from my memories as a princess, so I didn’t get lost.

Now, how should I survive?

This world is populated by people from many different worlds, so it must be hard to make money or gain a reputation by modern knowledge. As I was trying to rake my head about it, a thought came to me…

Was I reincarnated in [The Rising of the Shield Hero]?…

Or in [The Reprise of the Spear Hero]?

If it’s the former, there might still be a chance.

That’s exactly what I’m talking about when it comes to the dark side of king and country. If I stay by the side of Iwatani Naofumi, the Shield hero, there’s a good possibility that I’ll manage.

Sure, I’ll have to work very hard, but the pay-off will be great!!

The queen is going to be pleased and by doing so, I’ll avoid getting married off. Although the Shield Hero whose personality doesn’t change, it’s said to have some ”secret ambition”, he passes for being a very ordinary young man.

He is the understanding type of otaku. Even if I don’t tell him the truth, he’ll believe me.

If I raise him well enough… Yes…

Our chances of survival are pretty good. I’ll let the Queen and her allies deal with the underworld of this country. Even if it comes down to self-defense, I’ll be fine, thanks to my knowledge of the series. I had been reading the spear hero story too, so I should do just fine with the story knowledge. I wonder how delicious the shield hero’s cooking is going to be since it was suspected that he came from a cooking manga world.

But…if it happens to be Reprise… I’ll be doomed.

Because in [Reprose of the Spear Hero], to the hero of the spear hero, the main character, women’s words essentially sound like a pig’s squeal. And I’m one of the worst pigs in the world, and I’m called ‘red pig’ or something. What’s more, there’s a high probability that he’ll come to kill me if he sees an opening. It’s like… He’s going to kill me out of the blue.

I could be walking around the castle, minding my own business, and suddenly I would have a spear piercing through my chest.

Fuahahaha, you get a BAD END, I say!! Or something like that.

To put it in words: there is a fixed 1% chance that anything I do will trigger a death flag, and there’s no SAVE OPTION.

Like with the guy with the bulky armor… What was his name again? 

This is a bit meta, but unlikely to happen…but I’m not sure if it could be New Reprise.

[The New Reprise of the Spear Hero] is a follow up to the first [Reprise] story, but it hasn’t been finished yet at the time, so there may be even more pitfalls and landmines hidden along the way…

Anyway…let’s see what world is this first.

From the look of it, it seems to be the moment when the heroes introduce themselves. I entered the room quietly, hiding behind the throne, and start listening.

”I am this country’s king. My name is Aultcray Melromarc the 32nd. Heroes, show me your faces.”

Ah, the father of this body, who would later be renamed as ”trash”. I think he used to be called ”the wise king of wisdom”, being the hero of the staff, he played very important parts in the country’s past.

But now he is just a stubbornly bad old man or SBO, to put it shortly. He is a troubled man that would need to lose so much before he wakes up. Even if he is willing to listen to his daughter, he will likely lose it when it comes to the shield hero, Naofumi Iwatani.

It would be nice if he could stop when I tell him. I remember that not even Melty trying to persuade him to stop, worked at all, so it might be difficult to handle.

While I was lost in my thoughts, the king had begun to explain the world’s crisis. 

”I understand where you are coming from, but, you summoned us here and ask us to save the world for free?”

”What a convenient story.”

”We don’t even have the obligation to help you. What else do we get, after working hard to save the world other than a thank you and good-bye? What I mean to ask is if there is a way to send us back home, or something the like.”

”Hmmm…”

Ah, this was when the heroes pumped their fists in secret.

”Do not worry. We already have prepared additional aid, for you heroes, to help you protect the world, as well as the place to do so.”

”Don’t think you bought us. So long as you don’t become enemies, I’ll cooperate.”

”That’s right.”

”Indeed.”

Yeah, this seems to be the same as the [Shield Hero]. Good, good.

No…I’m starting to have a really bad feeling.

I’m not sure if I remember this whole scene completely, but I’m a bit suspicious about the way this exchange played out. The pace is practically the same, so it’s better to be safe. Now the heroes are gonna introduce themselves. I pay close attention, at the same time I bring my hand together, to pray this is [Shield Hero].

”My name is Ren Amagi. I’m 16 years old, and A high school student.”

Such a cute and short guy. I think he is the one that ends with the best personality of the four.

He has the ”royal road”, right? The events after the peace is achieved do make me feel sympathy for him, though.

 But, more importantly… who’s next.

Shield! Shield! Shield!

”My name is Motoyasu Kitamura. I am The Hunter of Love, I say!”

IT’S [REPRISE]!!!

I couldn’t help but lump myself on the wall, despairing because now I am threatened by such a horrible death flag.

WHAT IS GOING TO BE FOR MY LIFE NOW!?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started